Computer Science

With its13 chairs and 25 professors the Department of Computer Science comprehensively covers the fundamentals and specialized subjects of computer science in research and teaching.

The department stands for a modern and highly developed education in computer science with a broad range of courses, especially through its extensive connections with other departments at the faculty.

Futher information regarding the Department INF can be found on its website.

Chairs / Institutions and Professorships:

Computer Science 1 (IT Infrastructures)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Felix Freiling
Computer Science 2 (Programming Systems)
Prof. Dr. Michael Philippsen
Computer Science 3 (Computer Architecture)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dietmar Fey
Computer Science 4 (Distributed Systems and Operating Systems)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Schröder-Preikschat
Computer Science 5 (Pattern Recognition)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Andreas Maier
Computer Science 6 (Data Management)
Prof. Dr. Klaus Meyer-Wegener
Computer Science 7 (Computer Networks and Communication Systems)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Reinhard German
Computer Science 8 (Theoretical Computer Science)
Prof. Dr. Lutz Schröder
Computer Science 9 (Computer Graphics)
Prof. Dr. Marc Stamminger
Computer Science 10 (System Simulation)
Prof. Dr. Ulrich Rüde
Computer Science 11 (Software Engineering)
Prof. Dr. Francesca Saglietti
Computer Science 12 (Hardware Software Co-Design)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Teich
Computer Science 13 (Applied Cryptography, as part of the Nuremberg Campus of Technology)
Prof. Dr. Dominique Schröder
Computer Science 14 (Machine Learning and Data Analytics)
Prof. Dr. Björn Eskofier

Professorship for Didactics of Informatics
Prof. Dr. Michael Philippsen (provisional)
Professorship for High Performance Computing
Prof. Dr. Michael Kohlhase
Professorship for Knowledge Adaptation and Reasoning for Content
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Günter Görz
Professorship for Open Source Software
Prof. Dr. Dirk Riehle
Juniorprofessorship for Computer Science for Energy Systems
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Marco Pruckner

Computer Science Research Group M (Faculty of Medicine) (DE)
Prof. Dr. Hans-Ulrich Prokosch (Faculty of Medicine)